motivation letter (IUES 2012)


*to fulfill my friend’s request* and also, to memorize

I am Shabrina Nida Al Husna, 5th semester Undergraduate student of Department of Microbiology, School of Life Sciences and Technology, Bandung Institute of Technology.

I have been introduced to Community Development when I was invited to join Training for Trainers (TFT) by Indonesian Community for Scientist and Engineer cluster Student University (MITI-Mahasiswa) at Yogjakarta in July 2011. The training showed me how important community development is as a follow up of any research done by university students. The training which was under supervising of Prof. Eko Agus Suyono and Siti Syamsiyah, Ph.D inspired me to develop local potential of my nearest community. After the training, I was getting involved in RCDC team for regional West Java and becoming head of environmental projects. RCDC stands for Research and Community Development Center. RCDC-West Java is a subdivision under coordination of MIC (MITI Innovation Center) of MITI-Mahasiswa. This organization is one of university student movement which is concerning in developing local potential of a community in several aspects, such as economy, education, health and environment. After taking surveys in a month, my team decided to do community development in Cikahuripan Village. This village is located in Lembang, West Java. This village has great potential in many aspects, such as animal husbandry, horticulture and agriculture. But nowadays, any waste generated by Cikahuripan Village is burned directly since there was no landfills and waste processing system. If this situation going on long term, it could impact natural resources potential of Cikahuripan Village. It could damage the air as a direct impact of burning plastic waste, because the production of carbon dioxide. Then it would accelerate the process of global warming by affecting patterns of precipitation, evaporation, water run-off, soil moisture and climate variations which can threaten the overall process of agricultural production.

According to this problem, I’ve tried to do some solutions to reduce waste combustion through community entrepreneurship development. Trash Bank and Creative Waste Processing System are two of my efforts to solve environmental problems in Cikahuripan Village.

My interest in community entrepreneurship development is highly provoked since I was attending Upgrading RCDC West Java in 2012. At that time, Mr. Budi Faisal, Head of Eco Pesantren Daarut Tauhiid and Asst.Prof. of Architecture in ITB explained me how important community entrepreneurship development is. I was highly interested on his project about building community development as an initial effort by two Pesantrens in Bandung Area, West Java Indonesia. In addition, I have been introduced to community entrepreneurship development by attending seminar “Mandiri Bersama Mandiri” which held by Bank Mandiri in August 2012.

I took a part in Community Development Grant Program (Program Hibah Bina Desa) which held by Indonesian Directorate General of Higher Education (DIKTI) with my paper titled “Implementation of Innovative Trash Bank for Zero Waste Village and Increasing Economic Villagers Income through Waste Processing System in Cikahuripan Village, Lembang, West Java” under supervising of Dr. Sony Suhandono, B.Sc., Ph.D. DIKTI grant my project a fund until IDR 45.000.000 to implement my project certainly. Those competitions opened my eyes that community development, especially community entrepreneurship development has got high effort to increase people income in creating human welfare and to attain independent Indonesia in several aspects. Those experiences highly provoked my interest in community entrepreneurship development.

In the third semester break, I decided to follow my interest by attend the biology seminar in the University of Indonesia (UI) at January 2012 about Optimizing Star Fruits as a Great Potential of Depok City in Jawa Barat. I was introduced by Dr. Susanti as a Lecturer of Biology Department about alternative products of Star Fruits. She is on going community entrepreneurship development project by optimizing Star Fruits Products. From this seminar, I learned about implementation of community entrepreneurship development which is useful to increase people welfare.

I would like to join the International University Exchange Seminar (IUES) 2012 because I need really to increase and deepen my understanding in community entrepreneurship development. I have talked to Dr. Sony Suhandono, B.Sc., Ph.D about my interest and he strongly recommended me to take this program. I have read the description of the program and it is related to my excitement that the courses offered in the program are simply the ones that will fulfill my need. The program also offers an outstanding the application of science and technology on the community’s capacity to change, equipped with state-of-the-art facilities, and surrounded with top quality lecturers and potential students. Learning in such environment is perfectly suitable for me to fulfill my potential.

If I’m qualified to join this program, I realize that I will get great knowledge about community entrepreneurship development so that I can contribute more to Indonesia through all of my projects. By participating this program, I’ll extend my networks and get all the positive things in order to adapt to the new cultures. I believe taking this program is not only learning more about logic but also learning about life of the higher degree.

I have a clear idea of what I am going to do if the day comes, for sure I will involve myself in community development activities to accelerate Indonesia becoming one of model country of the world in many aspects. I’m sure that I have ability to share my knowledge to the people of Indonesia. I hope one day they will realize that “Community Entrepreneurship Development has got higher benefit for human life and will accelerate Indonesia as an Independent Country in the world”.

That is a glance of motivation of me to increase my knowledge in community entrepreneurship development for the people welfare especially in my country, Indonesia. Thank you very much for considering my request; I look forward for your positive response.

Leave a Reply

